Our Core


Photo by Tony Valainis

The Fonseca Theatre Company operates within a unique structure using four Artistic Directors. In addition to Producing Director, Bryan Fonseca, FTC will also rely upon a team of experienced theatre veterans. Learn more about them here.

Producing Director Bryan Fonseca has worked in Indianapolis for 40 years.
He founded and served in the same capacity at the Phoenix Theatre for 35 years.

Bryan has directed for the MFA Playwrights Workshop at the Kennedy Center, The Human Race Theatre in Dayton, Ohio, Indiana University, Ball State University and the Civic Theatre of Indianapolis. Over the years, he transferred six Phoenix shows to Chicago and his production of Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom was invited to travel to a festival in Dundalk, Ireland.

Bryan has received an Achievement and Service award from the Indiana Theatre Association, two Artist Fellowship awards from the Indiana State Arts Commission and two Creative Renewal Fellowships from the Arts Council of Indianapolis/Lilly Endowment. He taught at IUPUI and was invited by IU Bloomington to lecture in Germany on Contemporary Theater in America.

In 2016, he received the first (one of two) Transformational Impact Fellowships from the Arts Council and Lilly Endowment to begin work on the Near West Side.

FTC Family Photo by Zach Rosing

Our Artistic Directors

Lakesha Lorene, Jordan Flores Schwartz, Dena Toler (seated), Ian Cruz

The Company

The initial company includes most of the city’s finest POC/PWD/LGBT* artists:

Leraldo Anzaldua, Tom Alvarez, James Solomon Benn, Joanna Bennett, Diane Tsao Boehm, Patricia Castañeda, Ian Cruz, Natalie Cruz, Ramon Hutchins, Lakesha Lorene, Rhoda C. Ludy, Eduardo Luna, Josiah McCruiston, A K Murtadha, Brianna Milan , Kai Mwaafrika, Robert Negron, Iris Rosa, Daniel Scharbrough, Jordan Flores Schwartz , Carlos Sosa, Dena Toler, Ansley Valentine, Dwuan Watson Jr, Milicent A. Wright.

Collaborators Andrew Black, Tim Brickley, Will Carlson, Toni Press Coffman, Suzanne Fleenor, Charles Goad, Patrick Goss, Jerry Grayson, Gigi Jennewein, Bernie Killian, Jim Kincannon, Angeline Larimer, Mara Lefler, Mark Harvey Levine, Clay Mabbitt, Adrienne Reiswerg, Beverly Roche, Deb Sargent, Gayle Steigerwald and Dan Wakefield.

Community members include Hannah Boswell, Gregory Disney-Britton, Jonathan Conant, Enrique Fernandez, Ernesto Fernandez, Henry Fernandez, Ryan Klepper, Guero Loco, Kevin Moore, Kenneth Palmer, Rick Rezek, Jennifer Scharbrough, Alecs Sosa, Tino Sosa, Caitlin Negron, and Carli Stevenson


We collaborate extensively with Indy Convergence, sharing
programs and resources.

Indy Convergence is an international artist residency program focused on interdisciplinary collaboration and the intersection of arts in community. IC serves the Near West neighborhoods of Indianapolis and maintains programs internationally in Jacmel, Haiti and London, Ontario. Cultivating the talent that already exists on a local level and facilitating residency programs to bring in new perspectives, Indy Convergence works to both stimulate and amplify community voices.